South Carolina Marriage License Info
Updated: Aug 19, 2020
I know the marriage license laws can seem confusing. You will need a marriage license from the state where the ceremony is performed.
***Scroll to the bottom for update on marriage license policies in response to COVID 19.
For a SC marriage license, you can get one from any county in the state. For example, many brides that live in Charlotte, NC get their marriage license from Rock Hill. You can obtain this at any time as it does not expire. Each county has its own price and required documentation.
The main consideration is the 24 hour waiting period. If you apply for your license at 2 pm on Thursday, you cannot pick up your license until 2pm on Friday. The probate court is closed on weekends and many holidays.
The Charleston County Probate Court office is conveniently located at 100 Broad Street, Suite 469 Charleston, SC 29401. For your convenience, the office is open from Monday through Friday 8:30am – 4:30pm. However, we recommend you contact the office you plan to use and confirm their hours and location. For more information, please visit the Charleston County Probate Court Office Website.
COVID19 UPDATE: The court is closed to the public. You will need to apply for the marriage license using their Virtual Process. You pay the fee, and then set up a virtual video call where they watch you sign the application, and view your documentation. 24 hours later, they email the marriage license to you. The process can take 7-10 days depending on the amount of people applying and ahead of you scheduling the virtual call.
Another option is Richland County Court: they have more of an online process. You apply online, supplying the documentation they request, and pay the fee. They will process the application and mail you the marriage license the next day. Although the online application only takes a few moments, I would give it 1-2 days for processing and another 2-3 days for the postal service to get the license to you.
When you pick up your South Carolina marriage license, it will have 3 copies. One for the couple, and the other 2 are returned to the court. We will fill out all 3 copies and return the court copies to the proper court for you!